My first blog post! This will be about my coding learning journey at age 48!

My first blog post! This will be about my coding learning journey at age 48!

GraciiCodes coding journey blog#1

It's never too late to start right? I created this blog to help me with accountability. Too often when you are going through your self-taught coding journey, there are so many distractions that keep us from our goals. Our daily lives are full of to-do's. So in order to keep track of my learning path, I decided to record each lesson as I go through my coding learning journey. But first, I must start by writing about how it all began.

My first experience with programming was back in my early 20s. I worked for a satellite company and got some tech support experience there. Which then prompted me to look into college to study Computer Science. Needless to say that never happened. My next exposure was a few years later when I worked for another satellite company and supported the field engineers in 2011. That was very exciting! I was able to work the command line and dial into headends and support cable outages. Of course, life has this funny way of driving you off your goal if you let it.

Lastly, in 2017 I got the opportunity to work as a recruiter for yeah, you will never guess! IT Recruitment, ha! hiring young men and women and offering salaries that I could never have access to or wait, can't I? I decided right then and then that I would learn to code.

On March 29, 2017, I started my coding self-taught journey and created my GitHub account. Next, I tackled the Legacy Responsive Web Design from FreeCode Camp. Which I still have to complete. Of course, working full time and trying to learn how to code is very exhausting. So my coding journey has been a long time in the making.

In the years that followed, I took an online course here and there but it felt like I needed guidance. So I reached out to a mentor. So on August 06, 2020, that is exactly what I did. For four months I got more one-on-one coding mentorship. That was truly the greatest experience in my coding journey! It was hard but it was productive. Of course life again always has a way of interrupting my learning cycle.

So fast forward to the present.

I am currently working on The Odin Project, going back to the basics with my eye on the Full Stack Ruby On Rails path. But first, I am going through the prerequisites: Foundations, which I am happy to say I am currently at 41% complete!!!

I always have to remind myself to be kind to myself. Just because this journey has taken over 5+ years doesn't mean that I cannot accomplish what I set out to do.

So every day right after I finish my lesson for the day. I will write a short blog as to what the lesson is about. Even if it's a one-liner.

The Odin Project Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 9.01.16 PM.png

FreeCode Camp Journey Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.47.24 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.47.11 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.47.02 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.46.56 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.46.48 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.45.52 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.46.38 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.46.28 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.46.23 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.46.17 PM.png Screen Shot 2022-06-08 at 8.46.08 PM.png